Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Is Reliance Gsm Taking Apple Iphone Gprs Users For A Ride?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 joe_ubs

joe_ubs

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Full Name: Joe
  • City: Chandigarh
  • Handset: - Select Handset -

Posted 29 March 2010 - 12:05 PM

Reliance GSM GPRS setting for Apple iphone

it is very easy, in the settings-> general --> cellular date networks -->

apn name = rcomnet no other setting is needed.

switch 3G off and data roaming off.

but before subscribing to a GPRS plan please do read the following customer experience.


I, had subscribed for Reliance GPRS 299 unlimited browsing and unlimited download plan on March 4, 2010 & started using internet on my Apple iphone. I was shocked to see my bill now where in Rs 1400+ and 299 have been billed towards GPRS Charges as well as unlimited GPRS plan. I contacted the customer care for waiver of these 1400/- as i have subscribed to unlimited plans. Reliance customer care informed me that since apple Iphone has not been registered in the Reliance Phone database, so they will treat apple iphone as a computer and hence will continue to charge me GPRS charges even with unlimited plan! Is this not unfair on the part of the Reliance to charge me for net usage on my apple iphone at the same even with an unlimited plan. I have a same GPRS plan from vodafone & Airtel on my another apple iphone sets and i am being charged correctly without any additional charge. High Net Individuals please check all this before going in for a Reliance GSM connection. Anyways, if you are feeling cheated already, have patience wait till may 2010, then have your number ported to a better service provider like Airtel. I am also keeping my number 8000000048 on low usage till this happens.

#2 parin

parin

    Live & let Live others

  • Reputed Sellers Group
  • 2,173 posts
  • Full Name: Parin
  • City: Kolkata (Calcutta)
  • Network:Reliance CDMA
  • Handset: HTC One
  • Handset - II: Not Listed
  • Other Handset:iPhone 5

Posted 04 April 2010 - 10:19 PM

very bad yaar

signature_zps3469e745.png

Feedback


Press rep_up.png button if anything from my side was helpful


#3 konquerror

konquerror

    RIM Addict

  • RIM Addict
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Full Name: Pranav
  • City: Navi Mumbai (New Mumbai)
  • Handset: Blackberry 8330/8330m
  • Handset - II: LG RD 3500

Posted 04 April 2010 - 11:03 PM

Go through this post http://www.rimweb.in...-clarification/

Rs 99/- and Rs 299/- vouchers can be used only for connecting net via rcomwap APN. rcomnet is chargeable Rs 0.60/- per min irrespective of plan.
I know where the search button is!

If my post helped you, say thanks by clicking Posted Image button.

Posted Image

#4 aa.praveen

aa.praveen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Full Name: Praveen
  • City: New Delhi / Delhi
  • Handset: Nokia 6275

Posted 26 June 2010 - 08:38 AM

can u plz tell me how to configure gprs setting on iphone. and reliance people are saying that they cannot activate gprs on iphone. how did u manage to do so....thanks

#5 contactakarthick@gmail.com

contactakarthick@gmail.com

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Full Name: iphone 3G user
  • City: - Not Selected-
  • Handset: Not Listed

Posted 20 July 2010 - 09:07 PM

Hi Joe,

I could not connect Reliance GPRS/EDGE for Iphone 3G please help me to get the settings to connect to the net without issues.




Reliance GSM GPRS setting for Apple iphone

it is very easy, in the settings-> general --> cellular date networks -->

apn name = rcomnet no other setting is needed.

switch 3G off and data roaming off.

but before subscribing to a GPRS plan please do read the following customer experience.


I, had subscribed for Reliance GPRS 299 unlimited browsing and unlimited download plan on March 4, 2010 & started using internet on my Apple iphone. I was shocked to see my bill now where in Rs 1400+ and 299 have been billed towards GPRS Charges as well as unlimited GPRS plan. I contacted the customer care for waiver of these 1400/- as i have subscribed to unlimited plans. Reliance customer care informed me that since apple Iphone has not been registered in the Reliance Phone database, so they will treat apple iphone as a computer and hence will continue to charge me GPRS charges even with unlimited plan! Is this not unfair on the part of the Reliance to charge me for net usage on my apple iphone at the same even with an unlimited plan. I have a same GPRS plan from vodafone & Airtel on my another apple iphone sets and i am being charged correctly without any additional charge. High Net Individuals please check all this before going in for a Reliance GSM connection. Anyways, if you are feeling cheated already, have patience wait till may 2010, then have your number ported to a better service provider like Airtel. I am also keeping my number 8000000048 on low usage till this happens.



#6 sukesh

sukesh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Full Name: Sukesh Radhakrishnan
  • City: Mumbai
  • Handset: - Select Handset -
  • Handset - II: - Select Handset -
  • Other Handset:IPhone 3G

Posted 02 November 2010 - 11:51 PM

thanks, joe for the help, I was trying this for quite some time, reliance was not able to help me. the customer care of reliance is a bull****.

#7 Shabz

Shabz

    RIM Addict

  • RIM Addict
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 582 posts
  • Full Name: SA
  • City: Nagpur
  • Network:Vodafone
  • Handset: Not a Reliance user
  • Handset - II: Not a Reliance user
  • Other Handset:Samsung Star II Duos

Posted 03 November 2010 - 06:52 PM

In Iphone there is no setting to change apn you have to search on net to find a software which can bypass iphone settings to change ipn there is some software called "summerboard" and/or "winterboard" that will do the needful

My brother had iphone 4 and he recharged with 95 vodafone recherge but cc told that it will not work for iphone and he has to pay 100 Rs to activate GPRS and then pay 5p/10kb to surf.

He searched on net and found these softwares and now using 95 recharge with 2gb to the fullest

#8 joe_ubs

joe_ubs

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Full Name: Joe
  • City: Chandigarh
  • Handset: - Select Handset -

Posted 27 February 2011 - 08:44 AM

How to add APN settings on iPhone?, well iPhones may be carrier and data locked and hence in some apn or cellular data editing does not appear!!

It is simple now, just connect your iPhone to Internet using wifi, go to the site unlockit.co.nz, rest is self explanatory there, add rcomnet to manually to apn name, leave all else as it is and install the profile!

Hope that helps!

#9 joe_ubs

joe_ubs

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Full Name: Joe
  • City: Chandigarh
  • Handset: - Select Handset -

Posted 27 February 2011 - 08:49 AM

For iphone GSM vodaphone GPRS settings, As of now the beSt connection is Vodafone prepaid, just take a prepaid sim, recharge for 100/-, dial *444*96#, set apn setting manually as www or just go to unlockit.co.nz ( use wifi ) and that's it! Unlimited (subject to fair usage etc) this iPhone settings work for GSM Vodafone GPRS postpaid too! But plan costs around 399, which gets activated by sending act gprs399 to 111




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users